States allowing use of bankruptcy exemptions

The bankruptcy code provides a set of exemptions for use in a bankruptcy case.  Only, the states got a choice about whether their citizens could use the bankruptcy exemptions, which some legislators thought were too generous.

The following states allow the use of the federal bankruptcy exemptions found in 11 U.S.C. 522.

  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Hawaii
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

For states not listed here, you need to consult state law to know what property can be exempted in bankruptcy.

Exemption choices

Non exempt property

Avoiding liens

About the Author
Northern California bankruptcy lawyer Cathy is a 30+ year veteran of bankruptcy practice in the Silicon Valley. She is known for energetic representation of clients and her command of bankruptcy law.